So, I must  say that I am proud of myself tonight because I successfully got my 2 and 3 year old to eat ZUCCHINI…for a little while.  I made my own spaghetti sauce and chopped up some of my home-grown tomatoes and zucchini into it.  Here’s what I did…

1 1/2 lbs of ground beef…raised by yours truly!

1 zucchini

3 Roma tomatoes

1/2 chopped onion

salt and pepper

garlic salt

1 can of tomato paste

1 can of Italian seasoned diced tomatoes

mmmmmmm…it was YUMMY! And the great part was that my kids ate it all up!  Towards the end of the meal Kaylee, the 3 y/o said, “Whats that??” I answered that it was zucchini and she said, “I don’t like Zucchini!” Well, little do you know dear child that you have been eating it all night!  My accomplishment for the night; I outsmarted my 3-year-old! What an accomplishment!  To be honest-it doesn’t happen too often LOL so I was very happy!  She is the child who reminded me to give her sister, Macy her antibiotic after she got an infection from wasp stings.  What would I do without my little helper?! My hubby hasn’t been able to enjoy my feast yet because he has been busy chopping hay, round bailing hay, and getting our chopper ready to chop corn.  It’s midnight here and he still hasn’t been in yet, but hopefully he will enjoy my story as much as I enjoyed experiencing it. 

Harvest time is about to be in full swing around here and I have the feeling that I wont be seeing the whites of his eyes until the snow flies…that our joke!  HA HA hilarious…BUT as tired as he is after a long day I can still see the pride of accomplishment in his eyes for a job well done.  There is enough happiness there to tide me over!  Bed time now-my thoughts and prayers are with him to be productive and safe-those same thoughts go out to every farmer pursuing their end result of a profitable growing season.

